18 July 2014 Carlos García Garzón

RIBA Stirling Prize Shortlist 2014

This award is given annually by the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) British or European building designed by architect member who has contributed most to the evolution of architecture in the past year.

The finalists this year are:

- The “Shard” Tower, Renzo Piano Building Workshop.
- Aquatics Center, Zaha Hadid Architects.
- Everyman Theatre in Liverpool, Haworth Tompkins.
- Library of Birmingham, Mecanoo.
- New wing University London School of Economics London, O’Donnell & Tuomey Architects
- Manchester School of Art (Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios).

RIBA President, Stephen Hodder, said that the designs this year, coincidentally all located in the UK and who were chosen from a list of 56 shortlisted.

“The list of finalists includes extraordinary-pool buildings, office block, theater, library and a university-pretty, that inspire and transform the buildings so that their users can savor and be proud of them,” said Hodder.

Great buildings, according to the president, “when you look more closely, both internally and externally, and materials, are most impressive.”

The name of the award-winning architectural firm in the 2014 edition will be announced on October 16 at a ceremony in the same Institute.

The six finalists emerged from a list of 56 pre-selected, 44 from the UK and twelve other European Union already won two separate awards the RIBA in national and international categories.

The Stirling Prize was founded in 1996 and is named after James Stirling, a leading British architect who died in 1992 having received the Pritzker Prize in 1981.

more Info